Please join us as we host our state legislators for a discussion of what happened in this year's legislative session. Current confirmed panelists include State Rep. Gene Wu, State Rep. Jon Rosenthal, State Rep. Shawn Thierry, and State Senator Borris L. Miles. Further panelists will be announced once confirmed. We will be meeting at the new expansion building of the Chinese Community Center, just north of the main building. Please park and enter through the new facility.

We are delighted that Sandra Rodriguez, candidate for City Council District J, has offered to sponsor this event. Please visit her website at

We need all of our paid 2019 members to attend this meeting. As we mentioned in a previous email, a motion has been made to change the name of the club from Sharpstown Democrats to Southwest Democrats, reflecting our advocacy in areas outside of Sharpstown (Gulfton, Westwood, Braeburn, Brays Oaks, etc). We will be credentialing members at the start of the meeting, so please arrive early. In order to be eligible to vote, you need to have joined the club during our April 27th meeting or prior. If you were a 2018 member and renew before the meeting on Saturday, you will be eligible to vote, as well. Per our bylaws, Article III, #6, "Voting rights for a member in good standing will begin upon the adjournment of the first meeting." Our last business meeting was held on April 27th. If you have questions about your voting eligibility, please email us at

WHEN: Saturday, June 22, 2019, at 10:00 AM (doors open at 9:30)
WHERE: Chinese Community Center, 9800C Town Park Drive, Houston, TX 77036

Become a member here:

Meetings are generally held the 4th Saturday of each month at 10:00 AM at Bayland Community Center, 6400 Bissonnet St, Houston, TX 77074 (MAP).  Date, time, and locations are subject to change depending on certain circumstances (elections, holidays, etc.)

Club Bylaws are available HERE.

Current Board Members:
President: Adrian Ozuna
Vice-President/Immediate Past President: Carolyn Riley
Secretary: Kara DeRocha
Treasurer: Erik Manning
Parliamentarian: Jill Moffitt
Social Media Director: Michelle Palmer
Outreach/Field Director: Fran Watson

The club's mailing address is:
Sharpstown Democrats
PO Box 2053
Bellaire, TX 77402
Copyright © 2019 Southwest Democrats, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp