Copy

LYNN'S LIST
 

 

LYNN’S LIST FOR NOVEMBER 15, 2021

 

Fair and Representative Elections

 

Georgia has had a population explosion in the metro Atlanta area. More than a million new residents were counted in the 2020 census.  Most of the new residents (half) are concentrated in the four metropolitan counties of Fulton, Gwinnett, Dekalb, and Cobb and most of the growth is of people of color.  Rural Georgia lost population in 67 counties, mainly in rural southwest Georgia. The maps drawn by the committees were graded by the Princeton Gerrymandering Project.  The Georgia General Assembly Senate map was given a grade of F and the House map a grade of B. The House map is headed to the Governor for signature.

The committee votes went along party lines and the Senate map will now go to the General Assembly for a full vote.  We will only be contacting the Republican members of each committee. 

 

Contact the below listed Georgia General Assembly Senate and House members with the suggested script: My name is ---- and I am from ----. It’s so disappointing that your committee ignored the voices of the electorate in Georgia. You approved a Senate map  ignoring the fact that Georgia’s population has grown and is now evenly divided into the two political parties.  The Senate map was so partisan, it received a grade of F by the Princeton Gerrymandering Project.  All those citizens input meetings that you held across the state were just for show.  It is obvious that you already had made the decision to gerrymander the districts in a partisan way.  As one voter said in public testimony, “It is impossible to achieve an accurate result when you determine the desired outcome before you start.” How sad for democracy when the system is rigged against the voters. It is time to go back to the drawing board and create a fair Senate map.

The following Senators are on the Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee:

John Kennedy john.kennedy@senate.ga.gov
Bill Cowsert bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov
Dean Burke dean.burke@senate.ga.gov
Greg Dolezal greg.dolezal@senate.ga.gov
Mike Dugan mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov
Steve Gooch steve.gooch@senate.ga.gov
Marty Harbin marty.harbin@senate.ga.gov
Butch Miller butch.miller@senate.ga.gov
Jeff Mullis jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov
Blake Tillery blake.tillery@senate.ga.gov

 

The following Representatives are on the Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Committee:

 

Bonnie Rich bonnie.rich@house.ga.gov
Darlene Taylor darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov
Susan Holmes susan.holmes@house.ga.gov
Mandi Ballinger mandi.ballinger@house.ga.gov
Buddy Deloach buddy.deloach@house.ga.gov
Matt Dollar matt.dollar@house.ga.gov
Chuck Efstration chuck.efstration@house.ga.gov
Barry Fleming barry.fleming@house.ga.gov
Jan Jones jan.jones@house.ga.gov
Randy Nix randy.nix@house.ga.gov
Ed Setzler ed.setzler@house.ga.gov
Lynn Smith lynn.smith@house.ga.gov
Richard Smith richard.smith@house.ga.gov

 

If your Senator or Representative is not on this list, Republican or Democrat, contact him/her with the suggested script:  My name is ---- and I am your constituent from ----.  The new maps are drawn and are headed for a full vote by the General Assembly. The Senate map does not represent the electorate of Georgia and is blatantly partisan. It received a grade of F from the Princeton Gerrymandering Project. The voters are supposed to be electing their representatives, not the officials choosing their voters.  Vote no and send the Senate map back to committee to be redrawn. I WANT FAIR MAPS.

 

The 2022 midterm elections are 51 weeks away. As always, it’s a marathon and not a sprint. Please stay safe. Get vaccinated if you are not. It’s time to get boosted if you were vaccinated six months ago (two months for Johnson and Johnson vaccines). Wear a mask when you don’t know the vaccination status of others.

 

The link to your legislators is here


 

$25 membership or a donation of $50$100 or more will allow Georgia Women (And Those Who Stand With Us) to continue working on issues that are important to women and to our country. We cannot do that without you, but most importantly, we don't want to do it without you.
Our Twitter Our Twitter
Our Facebook Our Facebook
Our Website Our Website
Our Instagram Our Instagram
Copyright © 2018 Georgia Women, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
P.O. Box 7104
Macon, Georgia 31209

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list
 






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Georgia Women (And Those Who Stand With Us) · PO Box 7104 · Macon, GA 31209 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp