View this email in your browser
Dear Friends, 

I would like to invite you to the premiere of a jazz concerto I am presenting on Friday, October 21 at CCM. I will be performing with the CCM Concert Orchestra directed by Aik Khai Pung at 7:30 in Corbett Auditorium. 
The renowned Polish-American composer Piotr Szewczyk had been discussing writing a concerto for me employing jazz, alternative progressive music, classical elements, improvisation, and extended cadenzas. For inspiration, I suggested he investigate Anna’s artwork and he was particularly moved by Anna’s To Those Who Protect…Blue Morning, Evening Waves, Night Storm. (see description below). He composed Concerto for Saxophone and Orchestra - To Those Who Protect… in three movements based on the three parts of her triptych. I feel privileged that the composer created such a magnificent opus for me, and that he allowed me to collaborate with him on the form and musical language.
Maestro Pung and the orchestra will also be performing Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite, and in keeping with the “Polish Artistry” theme of the concert, Lutosławski‘s Symphonic Variations.
Through the generosity of CCM and of donors, this concert is free and open to the public and will display a breathtaking image of the artwork on stage above the orchestra.
As members of the Polish American Society of Greater Cincinnati, you are invited to a reception in the Baur Room following the concert.
Anna and I hope that you can join us for this special evening!

YouTube Channel: RickVanMatre

To Those Who Protect… is a recent work in artist Anna Socha VanMatre’s series of monumental mixed-media creations. It is dedicated to groups and individuals who are devoted to protecting our environment on a global scale. She was particularly inspired by forward-thinking ecological organizations that strive to preserve and restore the oceans using science-based policy campaigns. The artist uses multi-layered and digitally manipulated photography as well as drawing techniques with graphite and pastel. It consists of three segments and was exhibited at the Museum of Contemporary Art Kraków (MOCAK) in 2019.
From the artist’s statement: “There is something at once hypnotizing and frightening about waves. We can observe this undulating blue-green universe for hours and be amazed by the magnitude and persistence. The moving giant continually changes color and shape making us feel scared and vulnerable, but also giving us energy and resolve. With its essential aesthetic and complexity, NATURE has an intensity that terrifies us, but an attraction that amazes us. We are both witnesses and players in this great performance.”
Group Group
Website Website
Email Email
Page Page
Copyright © 2022 Polish American Society of Greater Cincinnati (PASGC), All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp